2019 Board of Directors Election Candidates

Amos Schonrock, MAN, RN, PHN, CNOR, CSSM

Amos Schonrock_Picture

It gives me great pride to tell people I am an operating room nurse. It is a topic I can talk about at length. I have worked in healthcare for over 22 years and I have been a perioperative professional for over 17 years. I have worked as a Certified Surgical Technologist, Staff Registered Circulating Nurse, Nurse Educator, Nurse Manager, and Nursing Leader. My profession has allowed me to practice in a variety of professional settings including academic medical centers, free-standing surgical hospitals, Level 1 and Level 2 trauma centers, community-based hospitals, and academic colleges of nursing. I am currently a Nursing Practice Leader for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, as well as a lecturer at the University of Iowa College of Nursing. These roles integrate my previous work and passions related to perioperative healthcare while also allowing me to incorporate education, quality, and safety for perioperative patients and professionals

I also have been an active member of AORN for over ten years and previously served on the Board of Directors for AORN Hiawathaland Chapter # 2402.

Some of the places I have worked include:

Mercy Medical Center- Sioux City, IA
Dunes Surgical Hospital- (formerly Siouxland Surgery Center), Dakota Dunes, SD
Mayo Clinic Rochester Campus, Rochester, MN

Why do you wish to serve as a member of the CCI Board of Directors?